The Nigeria Union of Petroleum and Natural Gas Workers (NUPENG) is one of the 46 industrial unions currently affiliated to the Nigeria Labour Congress. NUPENG was formerly registered as a Trade Union on 15th August, 1978 but held its inaugural conference On 2nd November 1977 at the cultural center Benin City, Edo State.

The Union is divided into Four Zones for easy administration and operations namely Lagos, Warri, Port Harcourt and Kaduna.

sdimg sdimg sdimg

Comrade Igwe Achese

NUPENG National President


NUPENG Head Office Jibowu


Comrade Joseph Ogbebor

NUPENG Acting General Secretary

The Union is an affiliate of Industrial Global Union. Now Industrial Global Union with Headquarters at Brussels in Belgium but now relocated to Geneva, Switzerland. The Union is currently a titular of Industrial Global Union.

Public Notice

18th August 2015

Comrade Isaac O. Aberare.
The former General Secretary of NUPENG has retired from the service of the Union on 31st July, 2015. He has been replaced by Comrade Joseph Ogbebor who is now the Acting General Secretary.

19th August 2015

Notice is hereby given that a meeting of the Central Working Committee (CWC) of our great Union has been scheduled to hold on Saturday, August 22, 2015 at the National Secretariat, 9, Jibowu Street, Yaba, Lagos by 10.00 a.m. prompt.

26th October 2015

The 2015 NUPENG National Education Seminar has been scheduled to hold in Owerri, Imo State from 11th to 13th November,2015, at Immaculate Royal (Int'l) Hotel, Port Harcourt Road, Opposite Imo State House of Assembly, Owerri, Imo State. Theme: Global Oil Politics,Investments and Employment Relations in the Nigeria Oil and Gas Industry.


To ensure the complete unionization of all workers employed in the petroleum and gas industry

To encourage the participation of members in decision making in the undertaking both at industrial and National levels